Forum Owner and Member Integrity

by Simon 95 Replies latest forum announcements

• Simon
    Simon

Some people recently raised concerns about security of the site relating to whether forum members could be WatchTower plants trying to obtain information about people. Apparently, this was because a previous forum that was setup was either owned by or later handed over to someone who used it to collect personal information about people which was then used to harrass them. I don't know all the details, I'm just paraphrasing what I've heard and recognize that it's a concern to some people.

I want to first of all put people's minds at rest: I've been running this site for what will be 13 years next month. During that time there have been several occassions where people have played up and been a complete pain in the arse but I've never resorted to exposing private information about them even though it would have been incredibly convenient to do so and saved us having to put up with a lot of slurs and lies. Why did I do this? Because I think it's extremely important to be trustworthy and protect people's personal information even when I personally may not think they deserve it - other people do and if I started picking and chosing I'd make a mistake and I know how important personal privacy is on a site like this. I also trust the majority of people to see through lies and eventually see what's going on. I rely on my reputation for running a site like this and recognise the huge responsibility we have to people.

Now, that doesn't mean that other people won't try to find information about other memberas and this site is no different than other internet sites - you should be wary of exposing too much personal or identifying information whether it's made public on the forum or privately in PMs to people. Just like forum owners who you chose to entrust your information to and need to be confident you can trust, you need to chose which other forum members you chose to trust.