Do You Personally Know Of Any JW That Was Sexually Abused?

by minimus 88 Replies latest watchtower child-abuse

• minimus
    minimus

,,,,while they were Witnesses?

• cruzanheart
    cruzanheart

Yes.

Nina

• minimus
    minimus

I know a few (too many) but not many.

• avishai
    avishai

Yeah. My brother. And Leanne Morley who was on the CBS news. And a few others who were victims of my bro's molester. As well as other victims.

For details, see here http://www.jehovahs-witness.com/6/38146/1.ashx

And here http://www.jehovahs-witness.com/8/46670/1.ashx

• rebel8
    rebel8

Yes. I was a psych social worker after leaving the dubs & putting myself through college, and I treated a handful of current JWs who had been or were being abused (not my assumption--by admission of the elders who came to interfere talk to the patient's treatment team).

• blondie
    blondie

Within the WTS, I know 9 people personally, including myself, that I can think of recently.

Due to my work in law enforcement and the court system and Al-Anon and ACOA, I know of many outside the Borg.

Blondie

• avishai
    avishai

Oh, I should point out, that all of them had it covered up as well. That's the kicker.

• minimus
    minimus

Well, we can't be giving the Organization a bad rep, now can we??

• happyout
    happyout

Yes, a girl I grew up with said her father molested her, and she was removed from the home and put into the foster care system.

This was years and years ago, and I remember my parents (who had known the father since they were teens) refused to believe it, and said very unflattering things about the girl. I recently asked my mother about it, and she said she now believes anyone is capable of anything, so maybe the father did molest her. Too little, too late.

Happyout

• kwintestal
    kwintestal

Yes. I was and know of 4 others.

Mine was covered up by the elders, as were all the others.