Should I have a Christmas tree?

by scuba99 84 Replies latest watchtower medical

• scuba99
    scuba99

HI folks,

I'm rather new here, only posted a couple of times. Although I have been visiting the site daily for a good 2 months now. I never formally introduced myself...didn't quite no the proper etiquette....anyway I have a question that I'm sure has been addressed here before but I'm gonna ask anyway.

I was raised a jw so of course I never celebrated any damn thing! Unless I can count the L.E.M. I know you know what I'm leading up to but it's not that simple. You see I'm getting remarried next month to a wonderful Girl. She's quite a bit younger than me, it's her first and my first to a non-jw. More on her in a moment.

I live in a very small southern town and everyone pretty much knows everyone. My Dad is an Elder has been forever I call him "Super Elder". So he has very little if anything to do with me.Since I'm DF"D. I actually asked him to conduct the Ceremony." Well that would be against the bible's teaching" he says. According to the bible he can't even attend! I'm sorry but thats just messed up!

So back to my soon to be wife. She is very family oriented which includes quite elaborate celebrations of EVERY holiday. She absolutely loves to decorate...she's already bought our Christmas stockings...So you know our tree and everything else around the house is gonna turn some heads. It's gonna be so difficult when I see my Dad after he's driven by the house during the holidays. I know he will have a hurt/dissapointed/betrayed look on his face. I can also imagine the humilation he will feel from all the self righteous, pious, hypocrites at the hall.

So I guess my question is this. How do I tactfully handle this situation? I wish my Dad had an inkling of what I've learned from this site. If he had any idea I know he would be much less radical about the shunning issue.