Want to quit Bible study

by confusedstudent 89 Replies latest jw friends

• confusedstudent
    confusedstudent

Hi I was just looking for some advice. I have been studying with the JW's for over a year now, and attended 2 memorials and the district/assembly conventions. At first, and up until very recently I truly believed what I was learning was the truth. As I have gotten further into my studies though it is seeming a little creepy. I try to bring up questions and doubts in my studies but it is hard because there is only one right answer- quoting the book I am reading from. I have a meeting on tuesday to see about becoming an unbaptized publisher. I am pretty convinced right now that this is not the religion for me. The blood issue specifically, and my husband is in the military (I started studying when he was deployed and I was very lonely and POOF a sister came knocking at my door!) How should I go about quitting my study? Everyone is expecting me to get baptized and I just CAN'T. Even though lots of what they have to say is appealing with the Watchtower it is either all or nothing and I don't agree with all of it, even though I do agree with a lot of it. The sisters who have done my study have become very very good friends of mine and it makes me sad because I have a feeling once I tell them I am through with studying they wont want to be my friends anymore. I don't know how I got this far into it I was just trying to pass the time and get some socialization and now I am about to go out in the ministry. How do I stop this trainwreck? I would like to just fade away and get too busy but they just don't leave me alone and always make me feel SO guilty when I can't make it to things that I go out of guilt instead of spending time with my husband like I should. HELP?

• confusedstudent
    confusedstudent

I also have been attending meetings semi-regularly.

• jookbeard
    jookbeard