So me, of all people, had a religious experience

by sabastious 363 Replies latest jw friends

• sabastious
    sabastious

I was sitting in my garage, as I often do, to chill out and I actually ended up becoming angry.

So here I am, in my garage, kicking it on the stool for the drum set that is in there (I am a pianist/composer, not a drummer). I start to think about all the crazy stuff that transpires on this planet. We have all seen shows and heard stories or maybe even witnessed events that don't add up. Very frustrated I yelled loud within my mind "I just wish I knew for sure whether or not there is intelligence out there doing anything besides humanity! I mean common! I would just like to know."

I remember really meaning it. I wasn't officially asking for anything... I was just genuinely frustrated and I might have spoken it aloud I don't really remember.

After that forgettable experience I go back into my house and throw the football around with my brother outside in the rain and cold (we really like to throw the football, lol). Then my brother tells me that he wants to play poker, texas holdem.

You see, my brother and I are both semi-professional Texas Holdem' players and we really enjoy the battle of wits that come from going heads up against eachother. When he first moved in with my wife and I we would play every day, sometimes 3 or 4 times. It had been a good few months since we played so we were excited to begin.

We have played literally hundreds of thousands of hands. So naturally, we have fun inside jokes about the hands we think we get more often than others. When we play our heads up matches we always point out these certains hands that have a very specific meaning to us over the Texas Holdem experiences we have had. It's hard for me to explain this sentimentality of poker hands, but it is a real thing in the Professional Poker World.