announcement at service meeting

by heathen 42 Replies latest jw friends

• heathen
    heathen

I actually went to the service meeting last night and low and behold the announcement was about the WTBTS not charging interest on the loans on kingdom halls anymore but they still had to pay back the principle balance , I never knew they charged interest but think that it was a very dishonest thing for them to do to begin with . You have to borrow money to pay for a building that the WTBTS owns? since when? To charge interest is a very worldly practice since it was against mosaic law to do so and clearly jesus would never have asked anything of the sort . I guess it took high gas prices to convince them to change, since less money is available to them because of it.

anybody with comment or info ?

• undercover
    undercover

That's very interesting...

Something more than high fuel costs had to prompt them to drop charging interest. I'm no expert in tax laws or anything but I wonder if this practice had become known to enough people that it was being questioned as to the validity of remaining non-profit if they were charging interest on loans...

They dropped charging for literature in similar circumstances...

• DaCheech
    DaCheech

in 1990 I lent my brother $20k, it took him 15 years to return...... i would not have imagined charging him interest...... even though i could have doubled the $$$$$$$$$$$

• blondie
    blondie
    *** km 4/85 p. 4 par. 11 Society Kingdom Hall Fund ***These loans are repaid to the Society Kingdom Hall Fund with interest at the rate of 6 percent. Why charge interest? Basically, the small amount of interest that is being charged serves to protect the contributions from inflation. Each year inflation erodes the purchasing power of every dollar, and the cost of building Kingdom Halls rises. The interest paid thus allows the Society Kingdom Hall Fund to maintain its potential for assisting congregations now and in the future.
  • WTWizard