Jesus Believed In Adam and Eve

by Parker 95 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Parker
    Parker

Hi. I'm new to the forum. I'm an ex-JW who actually faded from JWs. I'm here to drop by every once in a while to ask a question or two. Also, I prefer not to seek out a debate forum because I have no desire for debate. Also, even though it's been a long time since I was a JW, I still research information about religion and science. Plus, religion is a highly charged topic, and to the point where you can seriously offend and upset people of various Christian faiths.

But regardless of all the ends and outs of the various beliefs of various Christian faiths, I would say that the bottom line for fundamentalist Christian belief is that Jesus believed that Adam and Eve were real and historical people. And the Christian faith is based on that belief. However, even though, I'm not an expert in science, science itself points to it being impossible for the human race to have come from only two people around 6000 years ago. But I started this topic because even at this point in my life, I sometimes think twice about the whole religious thing.

Therefore, does anyone support the historicity of the Adam and Eve story, or do you disregard the Genesis story as being real and historic? Please feel free to share your point of view.

• cofty
    cofty

Hi Parker welcome to the forum.

Don't worry too much about offending others by questioning religious dogma. Facts don't require our consent.

Humans evolved from non-human ancestors over millions of years. We are evolved apes not fallen humans. This much is a fact as certain as anything that science has established to be true. Religion - if it wants to be taken seriously by intelligent people - needs to respect reality. The vast majority of religions have found ways to accommodate evolution. It is mostly Muslims, fundy xtians, JWs and many ex-JWs who still struggle with it,.

Evolution is a Fact - parts 1-40...

• pale.emperor