The Society's worst release

by Nosferatu 57 Replies latest jw friends

• Nosferatu
    Nosferatu

What, in your opinion, is the worst thing that the Society has released? (book / tract / video / audio cassette)

• blondie
    blondie

The Babylon the Great book. It contained the convoluted "bible" research and application of Fred Franz and never made sense even after the third time I studied it. The books today are dumbed down.

• minimus
    minimus

The Finished Mystery Book has to be the stupidest book written by the Society.

• Hamas
    Hamas

Well,

Videos - The new Youth Vid , 'How to make true friends' or whatever it was called.

Books - The secret of family happiness

I would say that a toss up between the two would result in the book getting the award for worst release ever, simply because I remember being real young and watching my mum running out of a group study in tears because the section was about a typical Witness family set up. My father was never a Witness and always gave her trouble.

I hate the Watchtower for releasing that shit.

• Nosferatu
    Nosferatu

I think the worst book the Society ever released was "Your Youth - Getting the best out of it". My mother had arranged for a brother to study it with me, and it was sheer embarrasment. I remember the chapter on masturbation very well. I remember the brother studying it with me, and telling me "not even one rub". Ugh! My mother also read that chapter to me multiple times when I was suspected of indulging in this "sin". That book should have been called "Your Youth: How To f*** It Up".

• City Fan
    City Fan

Have to agree with Blondie on this one - The Babylon the Great book.

I had to sit through a study of this 3 times at the book study as a kid. One word sums it up - CRAP!

• Nosferatu
    Nosferatu

Have to agree with Blondie on this one - The Babylon the Great book.

I had to sit through a study of this 3 times at the book study as a kid.