3 years of study, Just found out!

by impala63rag 137 Replies latest jw friends

• impala63rag
    impala63rag

Hello friends,

I would like some advice from those that are inpartial, and are familiar with the teachings of JW.

I studied with a wonderful JW couple weekly for 3 years. During this time, it was never mentioned that the church REQUIRED it's members to say, do and think a certain way. Maybe I am mis-understanding this, and hope that I am. I enjoyed our studys immensely. The reason I had never went to the KH is because I am cautious of religion but thirst for a greater relationship with God. Obviously I knew they didnt celebrate Christmas. That was something I wasn't on board with because how can celebrating Jesus in the spirit of family and giving be a bad thing?

I went to the KH this week and durring a conversation with a new member, she said she was glad she didnt have to worry about politics anymore. I responded with "what does being a member of a congregation have to do with politics"? She says, "JW dont discuss politics", to my reply, "you mean the church doesn't associate itself with political matters", She says, "no all JW do not have an opinion on politics", to my reply, "how can you say that all the members of a congregation dont have an opinion on something that important"?

After returning home, I was still baffled and did an internet search which led me to a website. (thejehovahswitnesses dot org) On that website it listed 141 things that JW cant do, etc. I was shocked to hear what the congregation expects of its members. At first I did not believe any of it, but had to ask. I called the person I have been studying with for so long to see if there was any truth to it. The first quest was disfellowshiping, to which he replyed that his sister had been DF and has not spoken with her in 10 years because of it. I responded with the Bible teaches us forgiveness, and he quoted a scripture that refers to one of the flock wandering.