new member- my story

by AndDontCallMeShirley 80 Replies latest jw experiences

• AndDontCallMeShirley
    AndDontCallMeShirley

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can

be dismissed without evidence."

- Christopher Hitchens

"

The truth is incontrovertible. Malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end, there it is." -- Winston Churchill

"

the great enemy of the truth is very often not the lie -deliberate, contrived, dishonest-but the myth-persistent, persuasive and unrealistic." -Crisis of Conscience

-----

I am new to JWN as a member but have been accessing this site for well over a year. I want to introduce myself and explain my background.

I am fourth generation JW. I have known no other way of life. I was as "in" as a person can be. My family history is that of pioneers, special pioneers, Elders, Circuit Overseers and District Overseers. We were of the "privileged"class in the Organization; as a teenager I personally met Organizational "heavy hitters", men like Fred Franz, because I ran with the "in crowd". I've worked in field service and had meals with members of the Governing Body. I've given talks at conventions, Sunday public talks in the congregation, been interviewed at conventions, held up as a model JW. I say this not to brag, but to substantiate that I know what I am talking about when it comes to anything "Organizational". So, whatever I say in future posts comes from someone who's lived it, seen it and experienced it from the inside out. I am not disfellowshipped or disassociated- I am a successful fader, an "escapee" if you will; I crawled under the prison wall in the middle of the night and the guards haven't noticed yet that my cell is empty! (thank god for the apathy of Elders- in this case, it worked out pretty well).

Why am I here now?