How many ex-JW's are musicians on here?

by NoRegrets 48 Replies latest social entertainment

• NoRegrets
    NoRegrets

Just wondering how many of us on here are musicians, what we play, and if we had witness bands and/or performed. I have had quite a few funny moments of being in bands that wanted to be cool, but always had to nerf the edginess of any songs we played and watch the noise! I played with different elders who loved to rock out, but when they played at a congregation party didn't even want to use overdrive of any kind! (Such hypocrisy!)

Anyway, I play guitar mainly. I also play bass, piano, and mandolin. Is there a connection to music and leaving the JW's? Is a musician more pre-disposed to be an open-minded, liberal thinker?

NR

• N.drew
    N.drew

The posting box is finally visible. They aren't ignoring you NoRegrets.

I am not a musician, but, oh how wonderful it would be! The reason I am not

is faith no , not faith, oh, lack of money and imagination of the parents.

Some people seem to cling to the idea that people of faith do not prosper because

of their faith. I am giving them one example of that is not true.

I should know how to play the piano, I know it is not too late, thank you, but I do not own

a piano and I have no place to put a piano and I'm somewhat old. I did not know I

wanted to play, but I still remember Aunty Barbara saying "look at those long fingers, she

should play". But my mother, who is (was, she is gone-for now) not a religious person did

not say "do you want to learn?" "hell yes I want to learn!" But it didn't happen that way.

• jam
    jam

I have learn to play the guitar in my old age(5yrs now)

I play with the seniors citizens group. We are now practicing

to perform for xmas at the senior citizen center, we do not

sound that great, but it,s fun. My son-in law(A JW) is

A music promoter in Vegas. If I had remain A JW, no way

I would have learn to play A guitar as A elder, no time for