I've been studying with JW's for a few months..

by MichaelM 101 Replies latest jw friends

• MichaelM
    MichaelM

I've been studying with the JW's for a few months and i've attended a few meetings but things are feeling somewhat strange... I don't quite get the jist of things but I feel that i'm learning more of what the watchtower teachers and less of what the bible actually says.. I never open my bible.. I'm always reading the watchtower pamphlets. I really like the people i've met in the congregation and the guy thats been doing the studies with me has been an awesome friend.

But i'm just having some issues.. I mean.. They translated their own bible to suit their own doctrines it seems. What really urks me is they don't give any info on the translators and they say the credit goes to God.

There are things the JW's teach that I think make sense. No hell(Why would a loving god permit eternal torment? it's illogical and hateful). The trinity seems real iffy. I've seen a few things that almost hint to a trinity, but mostly Jesus shows that hes a completely different person than god and is unknowing as to certain things god knows.. asking him for help, being lower than him, like the mediator in between. Dying on a steak makes more sense because you actually suffocate when your hands are that high, on a cross your diaphram is fine. Wearing crosses and having pictures and idoltry and whatnot seems kinda goofy too.

The point is.. Something isn't right in this society and i can't place my finger on it. I can't say their translation is all based on their doctrines when the same thing could be said of the other bibles.

I mean who really knows? They could be finally getting it right. I don't know.. I'm just a lost person.. wanting to please the creator but afraid that one way is the wrong way, and i'm too stupid to find the right way.