cult personality type?

by Mysterious 65 Replies latest jw friends

• Mysterious
    Mysterious

Another thing that has been intriguing me lately is the idea that cults can help sway people towards a certain personality type more towards a judging personality for example, or becoming more feeling rather than thinking. I know my meyers-briggs type changed from ISTJ when I was a JW to INTJ after I left. I was curious if anyone else was aware of a similar shift in their actual measurable personality traits..maybe putting on the new personality is literal?

• megsmomma
    megsmomma

I have noticed this on a bit of a different side. It seems to me a-lot of our families in it have a similar bitter, hatefull attitude. It seems that the cult attracts people who are very controling by nature

• becca1
    becca1

Interesting. I've been studying personality typing for several years now. While people grow, mature, learn new things.. thier core personality remains pretty much the same. You may shift a bit say from P to J if you work really hard to be organized, prompt, etc. But you would never go from an SJ to an NT. The four categories are SJ, SP, NF and NT. They are four different animals. A leopard can improve his hunting skills but he "can't change his spots".

I think you must have answered the questions incorrectly, perhaps the first time, when you were younger. It's common for younger ones. Or maybe you took the test in a hurry or on the other hand, over-analized the questions. Regardless, I assure you, you are the same person you were before, just more mature.

As for changes we undergo upon leaving the WT. I believe we do go through a period of great change and growth, but we will remain the same person at the very core.

• becca1
    becca1

Hi again: Just looked over some of your older posts. You are so not an SJ!!!! I don't know you personally, but your thoughts are very "quirky" a very "N" thing. I'd say the second test is the accurate one.

• Confession