For Darcy, what do you think is necessary for salvation?

by TheListener 77 Replies latest jw friends

• TheListener
    TheListener

I know it was a rather long and drawn out title but I couldnt' think of another way to word it. :(

Anyway,

This is especially for the new poster Darcy. I was wondering what you felt was necessary to receive everlasting life, whether on heaven or paradise earth?

• darcy
    darcy

ooh. that's loaded.

you're asking me to present my own standards by which I'd judge someone's chances of survival.

I'm not good at answering this sort of stuff, because I totally back off of anything to deal with judging. That's Jehovah's work, and it can stay that way.

You'd be better off asking me specific questions probably like how do you feel about this activity, or that. I could give you the general, 'be a good person, seek happiness answer' here, but that's so subjective and vague.

I'll try to answer in that, by the New Testament, God is Love, and he commands Love for one another and for him. So salvation is probably best sought by demonstration of such. I've often reflected on Paul's words that he became all things to all sorts of men that he might reach them, and that to me took an extraordinary amount of love and unwillingness to judge those men by their actions.

When it comes down to judging... well, the gospels point out that Jehovah makes the sun rise for righteous as well as unrighteous. How kind, then, would it be for me to set judgement standards for salvation for anyone, righteous or unrighteous?

• Honesty
    Honesty

He gave us a real simple formula:

...if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. Romans 10:9

• MidwichCuckoo
    MidwichCuckoo

The Listener - methinks darcy is just GAGGING for an audience.

• ellderwho
    ellderwho
    So salvation is probably best sought by demonstration of such.........."