How do you handle extremely rude people in public?

by Virgochik 45 Replies latest jw experiences

• Virgochik
    Virgochik

I'm so upset by two vicious women who came to my work today. I was helping a man in my line and they tried to cut in front. I politely explained that as soon as I finished with my customer, I would help them. The women started talking loudly about me to the whole place: "I guess she can't multi-task, can she. Can't do two things at once. I bet she doesn't have any kids! Nope, she sure can't be a mother, or not a very good one! Hahaha!"

I'll probably get in lots of trouble, but I quietly said, " Ladies, I'm just back from my hysterectomy. Your words were very hurtful to me. No, I'm not a mother, and now, I never will be. We three are all women, let's be considerate of another lady's feelings, since we never know what another person is going through."

Woman #1: "Well, I'm a retired nurse, and so I AM a sensitive person! I just wanted you to answer a question. Can't you do two things at once?"

Me: "I just like to give my full attention to the customer I am helping. I'm sorry to have shared my feelings with you, I shouldn't have. Have a good day, ma'am."

Woman #1: "Yeah, like I'm going to now!"

How do you guys handle mean people on the job? If they complain to my boss, I'll probably have to apologize. I blew it today, but it just pushed my sensitive buttons .

• Seeking Knowledge
    Seeking Knowledge

I don't think you were wrong in any way. Sure you gave them information they didn't need or deserve to know, but they were incredibly rude to feel that they were more important than even the customer you were helping first. THEY are the ones with the problem, not you.

It's hard to deal with people like that, you did better than I would have, which is probably why I don't work directly with the public