newbie seeking others thoughts

by brokenfairy 45 Replies latest watchtower bible

• brokenfairy
    brokenfairy

hi all. i am new here. just found this site yesterday. my story is quite long so i will probably post it another time. just a lil background...i learned the "truth" through a friend who was disfellowshipped & studying to get reinstated...i was 22 when i studied...baptised when i was 23 (im 31 now)..."drifted away" due to depression..& later learned i was disfellowshipped without my knowledge a couple years ago...i have been in & out of deep depression & am still trying to heal...so please go easy on me...i am trying to find my way in this world as well as have a relationship with God and His Son...anyone who has left the org knows how hard it is out there & i am sure understands my feelings....

basically i have been reading the Bible lately & doing extensive research on the web and have come across many things in my search...any imput put on various scriptures or sites i would appreciate....

first of all i found more than a few religions that resemble the teaching of the JW's...so can they HONESTLY say they are the only ones with the "Truth"?

scriptures i came across in my studies this week (if you have any other translations of these same scriptures please quote them in ur response i have 2 KJVs as well as the NWT that i am using...thanks!) :

Ecclesiates 12:11-14 NWT....vs 12:as regards anything besides these, my son take a warning: TO THE MAKING OF BOOKS THERE IS NO END, AND MUCH DEVOTION [TO THEM] IS WEARISOME TO THE FLESH. vs 13: the conclusion of the matter, everything having been heard is: FEAR THE [TRUE] GOD & KEEP HIS COMMANDMENTS. FOR THIS IS THE WHOLE OBLIGATION OF MAN.(see vs 14)

KJV ...vs 12: my child i warn you to stay away from any teachings except these. THERE IS NO END TO BOOKS & TOO MUCH STUDY WILL WEAR YOU OUT. vs 13: EVERYTHING YOU WERE TAUGHT CAN BE PUT INTO A FEW WORDS: RESPECT AND OBEY GOD! THIS IS WHAT LIFE IS ALL ABOUT.