My story, please read

by fairchild 108 Replies latest jw friends

• fairchild
    fairchild

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to read this. I hope that I am putting this in the right forum.

I have been roaming around this site for a couple of months now, and finally registered. I am in desperate need to tell my story.

I grew up in Europe, in a pretty messed up family. Mom was a convinced protestant and dad was an equally convinced catholic. Needless to say that amny of the domestic arguments were about religion and who was right or wrong. When JW's came to the door, my mom was always extremely obnoxious to them and would slam the door so hard in their faces that the windows would be shaking. I felt embarrassed by this action and promised myself that somehow, some day, I would make it up to them and try to undo the wrong.

Our family fell apart and the 4 children were put into orphanages. When I was 12, I got separated from my siblings and didn't see them again until 6 years later. In the meantime, religion kept me occupied, I wanted to find out which one of my parents had been 'right' after all. I studied as much about different religions as I could and read every book available to me. Around the age of 17, I came to the conclusion that the JW's were closer to the truth than anyone else, yet I didn't act on that conclusion.