The Document Some of Us Signed After Baptism

by cruzanheart 13 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• cruzanheart
    cruzanheart

There was a thread a while back by someone who asked if anyone signed a document after they got baptised, and it jogged my memory. So I leafed through some of the old books and found the old yellow "Your Word Is A Lamp To My Foot." On the last is "A Record of Christian Baptism" (see below). This book came out in 1967 and I was baptised in 1965, so it was a little after the fact, but when I saw that page I remembered filling it out. I think that the wording of the vow is very interesting, as it mentions allegience to the organization as a "desire" and not a command.

• gumby
    gumby

Hi Nina,

The print is still too small to read after clicked on. It would be an intresting read.

I was baptised in 1970 at the age of 16, but I can't remember the book I studied or if their was a "vow" page. I can't remember yesterday.

I DO remember that the baptismal group met in the library with ONE elder....and he conducted the questions like a Watchtower study. You CHOSE to raise your hand, and commented if you wanted to.That's all I remember.

Gumby

• ikhandi
    ikhandi

Interesting. I never knew this exsisted.

• cruzanheart
    cruzanheart

Try it now. I cropped and tried to enlarge the page. In case you can't see it, here is the text:

RECORD OF CHRISTIAN BAPTISM

As one of Jehovah's Christian witnesses I appreciate that the holy Bible is the written Wrod of God and that it must be "a lamp to my foot, and a light to my roadway." (Ps. 119:105) I am firmly convinced that "Jehovah is righteous in all his ways," and it is my earnest desire to live in full harmony with his will as he has made it plain to his servants. (Ps. 145:17) For that reason I have dedicated myself without reservation to Jehovah God through Jesus Christ to be his possession and do his will both now and for all time to come.