Fifty years ago today: One quote to demolish the Watchtower

by JeffT 60 Replies latest jw friends

• JeffT
    JeffT

I did not have any connection to JW's when they published this, about two weeks before I graduated from High school. I'm now on Medicare and collecting social security. So much for their ability to see into the future.

*** Awake! 1969 May 22 p.15 ***
    If you are a young person, you also need to face the fact that you will never grow old in this
    present system of things. Why not? Because all the evidence in fulfillment of Bible prophecy
    indicates that this corrupt system is due to end in a few years. Of the generation that
    observed the beginning of the 'last days' in 1914, Jesus foretold: 'This generation will by no
    means pass away until all these things occur.' Therefore, as a young person, you will never
    fulfill any career that this system offers. If you are in high school and thinking about a college
    education, it means at least four, perhaps even six or eight more years to graduate into a
    specialized career. But where will this system of things be by that time? It will be well on the
    way towards its finish, if not actually gone! This is why parents who base their lives on God's
    prophetic Word find it much more practical to direct their young ones into trades that do not
    require such long periods of additional schooling… True, those who do not understand where
    we are in the stream of time from God's viewpoint will call this impractical. But which is really
    practical: preparing yourself for a position in this world that soon will pass away? or working
    toward surviving this system's end and enjoying eternal life in God's righteous new order?

• Tameria2001
    Tameria2001