The New World Translation

by MrsQ 41 Replies latest jw friends

• MrsQ
    MrsQ

Can anyone give me an explanation of how the NW Translation came about? Who, exactly, were on this bible translation committee, and what were their qualifications? When was it first published?

Any info you have would be great. I don't have one any more that I can even refer to...

ADQ

• Yerusalyim
    Yerusalyim

Mrs Q,

If you did a search on this Web Site using the tools that Simon has provided you'd find more than one thread on this issue.

Membership of the committee is discussed in Ray Franz book, Crisis of Conscience. They were Nathan Knorr, Albert Schroeder, Gorge Gangas, and Fred Franz.

No one on the committee was educated enough to be a translator. Fred Franz had the best credentials, and those don't meet muster for translation work. He had two years of Greek from the University of Cincinatti, and was "self taught" in Hebrew.

The NWT, far from being "scholarly" as the society claims, is a biased work translate in favor of the unique doctrines of the WTBTS.

Yeru

• Hamas
    Hamas

Hi Mrs Q.

Yeru filled you in quite nicely, but also the NWT was first released in 1951 in a series of six volumes. In 1961, it was realesed fully, but without footnotes, so the Society then released a second revision early 1970's.

It has come under scrutiny from most Biblical scholars. Speak to Undisfellowshipped, he has some great info on this.

• Yizuman
    Yizuman

"Who Translated the New World Translation Bible?"

*** Watchtower 1955 October 1 p.603 Part 3: What Do the Scriptures Say About "Survival After Death"? ***
    (Johannes Greber identified as Spiritist)