Still in with kids

by thinking_ability 40 Replies latest jw friends

• thinking_ability
  • Iamallcool
    Iamallcool

try google chrome

• thinking_ability
    thinking_ability

sorry having issues with using my phone (dont want to use the computer.

Hello everyone, newbie here.

Well I'm a born in 3rd Generation jw but have been 'awake' for about 2 years now. I dont have problems (well much) with going to the odd meeting to keep my family and friends. However, I dont want my kids to be brainwashed. Even if I dont take them to meetings I know my family will still teach them jw nonsense. How do I teach them to tjink critically and how do I answer the big questions eg.who is God? What is armaggeddon?

I cant imagine separating my babies from all these people that lovemy babies but want them to think for themselves

• Cagefighter
    Cagefighter

Stop taking them to meetings and raising them as JWs.

• Deus.ex.Machina
    Deus.ex.Machina

Encourage any non-JW interests they may have and stress the importance of education.

Also encourage them to have friends outside the JW circle. I think that's important for developing certain social skills that are difficult to master being raised as a JW. Because everyone at the Kingdom Hall is automatically your friend (supposedly at least), a lot of young people raised as JWs don't know how to make and maintain real friendships. They don't understand the real give and take dynamic of social support systems.

• LoisLane looking for Superman
    LoisLane looking for Superman

Thinking_Ability, Hello and Welcome.

Sorry, it is too late at night for me to give a good answer.

Just Lois in The north Pacific at 1:15 AM

Oh, oh, oh...we have another new good guy with us tonight!

Welcome Deus.ex.Machina...Make yourself at home. Start a new thread and tell us a little bit about yourself. Don't give too many details, if your not comfortable.

Just Lois

• Pickler
    Pickler