holding off on my baptism???

by madcow78596 50 Replies latest jw friends

• madcow78596
    madcow78596

So I've been studying with JWs since April 2011. 1 year later I decide to become an unbaptized publisher and take steps toward dedicating myself to Jehovah. I'm a single working mother of 2 with what i will call a very "colored" past. But over the course of this last year and a half I have dramatically turned my life around and am very pleased to be doing Jehovah's will. Because of my circumstances I don't always have the time others do to go out in service, but I have been doing a consistent 5-6 hours a month along with informal witnessing here and there. I also don't have the luxury of buying too many new clothes, but I do what I can. Now, fast forward to July 2012 and our convention is coming up and I express that I would like to get baptized at the next opportunity. Well the convention came and went and I personally did not feel ready to go through with the review....so I decide to wait till our assembly in October. I dilligently study the questions from July to October and restudy, and restudy till I feel ready.....I go through my review....the brothers agree I have all the knowledge down, BUT they recommend I should wait. Here's the kicker.....the 2 reasons they feel I should NOT be baptized after associating for over a year, being in service for 6 months, being enrolled in the school, consistently attending meetings, weekly study, etc.....are that 1) my 11 year old son refuses to study God's word. Now he goes in service, attends meetings with me, etc....but he has clearly expressed he is not interested at this time despite efforts from myself and other brothers. So, I cannot FORCE these ways upon him and risk the possibility of him resenting the truth....I simply lead by example, require that he attend meetings while living in my household, and keep making efforts to study with him and keep him in Jehovah's discipline......and reason 2) my dress is not "m