Any Good 1975 Stories?

by Think About It 41 Replies latest jw friends

• Think About It
    Think About It

Despite denial by the WTS of any 1975 Armageddon predictions zealous JW's did believe it, openly talked about it, and some even sold houses & belongings in anticipation of it. Do you have or know of any good 1975 stories?

Here's mine.........I was a freshman in college and had quit attending the KH back in HS. I remember all the built up talk about "will you be alive after 1975" and other catch phrases. Most JW's believed it hook, line & sinker. Since I wasn't raised a JW....I just wanted out.

Fast forward to October 1975. I'm reading the newspaper and an article says JW's predict the end of the world will happen on such-n-such day October 1975. It was 2 weeks away! I had no contact with any JW's, so really didn't know what was going on. I actually believed the article to be true and had a sick feeling in my stomach. The next 2 weeks it was like I was a dead man walking on death row. Thought there might still be a chance it could be wrong, but still was pretty nervous about it.

The predicted end of the world day in Oct 1975 arrives and I'm scared shitless! It's a beautiful warm, sunny day, but just in case the end doesn't come I go to classes anyway. However, my mind is on the end coming and I can't think about anything else. After classes it is still a beautiful day and I head home quick as possible. At home other family members are making plans to go out and do things. I never did tell them what I read about TODAY being the end of the world. I start talking about why don't we all just stay home today and be together. They start asking me why I am acting so weird, but I wouldn't tell them we were probably going to die any second now and I just wanted us to die together.