How Would You Do in a Debate Against a Talented JW Apologist?

by Open mind 40 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Open mind
    Open mind

How good of a debater are you?

I was recently reading some old threads on JWD back in the days when a poster named "YouKnow" was here. (2002) He would stand toe-to-toe (or at least he thought he did) with the likes of AlanF, refiners fire, seven006, and many others. He really knew how to push the JW "hot buttons" and would rarely concede anything to his opposers. Don't get me wrong, I think the posters here handed him his head on a platter with brutal regularity and it has been both educational and entertaining to read.

But I'm not that good at debate myself. I have a feeling that if confronted with a hardcore, in-your-face apologist like "YouKnow" that a neutral 3rd party observer might say he won. I tend to "freeze up" when put on the spot and even occasionally find myself going along with a line of JW "reasoning" that a part of my brain knoww is pure, unadulterated, horse puckey.

So..........

How do you think you'd do in a one-on-one live conversation with someone like "YouKnow"? Be honest. Do you think the right JW Elder could manipulate you if it was just the two of you?

Also, any suggestions for improving in the arena of verbal jousting would be appreciated.

Open Mind

p.s. Here's a sample of the kind of fear and guilt "button pushing" YouKnow was famous for if you really want a flavor for how gung-ho he was.

You Know said:

"I am glad that you want to play the peacemaker. That's a good thing. But, the hard reality is that there can be no agreement between Jehovah's Witnesses and those who are apostate Jehovah's Witnesses.

One of the most basic fundamental spiritual truths that one must accept in order to make sense of all this, is that there is a universal controversy that exists in the spirit realm. The controversy I am referring to is between Jehovah God and Satan the Devil.