Should I marry a JW ?

by curiousabouthim 52 Replies latest social relationships

• curiousabouthim
    curiousabouthim

I am new to the JW world, not one, but do love one. Met a man who down to the tee is amazing. He is a great man, the only thing i am not so sure about is his "religious" beliefs. He loves me unconditionally and we are great together, he does not expect me to become one, just asked if i would ever read with him, i love the Bible, so I am fine with *reading* with him. Nothing else expected. Because i have no idea really, what are your opinions on marrying a JW? What does it mean that the elders would control our marriage bed?

Thank you in advance for your replies. I need the help.

• Nathan Natas
    Nathan Natas

Yes, marry him.

Some people can only learn through personal experience.

• thecarpenter
    thecarpenter

"Shrewd is the one that has seen the calamity and proceeds to conceal himself, but the inexperienced have passed along and must suffer the penalty." Which one are you?

• Arthur
    Arthur

Tough question. There are many variables which you did not address. You better consider all possible angles, and their long-term implications:

Does he want to reach out for MS or Elder? And if so, are you okay with these duties taking time away from you?

How does he feel about you celebrating Christmas? Is he willing to allow you to have Christmas items in the house? What about you celebrating Christmas and Thanksgiving with your family? Will he allow it?

Is his family in the org? If so, how will they view you?

Are you prepared to let him die if he needs a blood transfusion?

Do you fully realize that according to JW theology; he may very well be granted survival into the paradise earth while you (a non-JW) will be executed? How does that sit with you?

Do you and him want kids? If so, will you allow them to be indoctrinated in the religion? How will you feel about them not being able to accept Christmas presents from their grandparents?