Intro and ? that has probably been asked a zillion times...

by Swamboozled 27 Replies latest jw friends

• Swamboozled
    Swamboozled

I don't want to bore with the tedious details...but long story short: My husband was raised a JW. He DA and married me 6 years ago. I was so appalled at the fact that his family shunned him that I insisted on a sit down with his mom to explain. Everything she said made sense to me at the time and I wanted desperately for my husband to have his family back. So I studied and he started the humiliating process of coming back. I was baptized and he was reinstated a couple of years later. While I was studying I was warned against researching on the web and reading "apostate" literature. "Demons prey on the new ones" I was told so I never looked into it too deeply. The my daughter from a previous marriage starting having to miss out on what I think are important things in childhood...friends, organizations, sports etc. I was bothered by thoughts of her having to miss the prom and her constant questions about whether her father would be killed at armageddon. So I started looking into things and 'lo and behold. Boy do I feel like an ass! I talked to my husband about it and he started looking into things too. Needless to say we feel like Mr. & Mrs. Ass. We stopped going to meetings immediately and even missed the assembly this year. We have so far successfully avoided shepherding calls. We don't want to dissassociate because husbands parents are old and we want that relationship. So we told family that we needed time away to sort things out for ourselves. So my question is this. My mother in law defended all of our points (most from COC) by saying that we are all imperfect and the Society makes mistakes. She challenged us to find the "true religion". We said we don't think there is one. She says the bible talks of one. I'm sure many of you were confronted with this arguement. How did you respond.

Sorry it got so long.

MA