Made money with a ATM machine

by JH 45 Replies latest jw friends

• JH
    JH

In our ATM machines, we can only get 20 dollar bills out of them, so today I went to get 60$ out of the ATM machine and to my surprise came out a 50$ and two 20's. . So instead of getting 60$ like I asked, I got 90$ out of the ATM machine.

There isn't supposed to be 50$ bills in that machine. I guess that the one who filled it up with 20's, accidentally put a 50$ in.

Then I came back home and went online to see what I withdrew, and it was written 60$, just like I asked.

There is no way they can find out now.

• Apostanator
    Apostanator

Merry Christmas !!!

• Sirona
    Sirona

Actually, I work in a bank and they will find out.

The thing is, they'll find out that their money didn't balance...

Say, for instance, someone put lots of 50's into an ATM accidentally and it was giving out 50's instead of 20's, what would happen is that the bank's reserve account wouldn't balance (and would be in deficit) and they'd figure out that they'd made the mistake, but there wouldn't be many ways of knowing who withdrew the cash UNLESS they knew how many 50's and how many transactions. In that case, you'll be getting a phone call. An error of a small amount is reportable to the area manager and is investigated thoroughly.

Needless to say, someone will be in deep shit.

Sirona

• JH
    JH

They will notice that something doesn't balance off.

But how can they know who got a 50$ instead of a 20$. First of all, there shouldn't be any 50's in the machine. First of all, they will think that an employee kept some money.

Then, if they trust the employee, and try to figure out who got a 50$ instead of a 20$, since they will be 30$ in the hole, they don't know where the 50$ was in the whole stack of 20's in that machine.

I'm sure that there is about 10,000$ per ATM machine all in 20's.