How many of you gave up a college scholarship?

by codeblue 40 Replies latest jw experiences

• codeblue
    codeblue

How many of you gave up a college scholarship to appear "spiritual"?

Jt's thread about "homegrown lawyers" and the WTBS willingly sending certain ones to college started me thinking about that question.

I know I for one, relinquished that scholarship to show how "spiritual" I was at 18.

How many of you did the same thing???

CodeBlue

• blondie
    blondie

I was a very good student and could have qualified but did not pursue any. I still received several cash awards which came in handy to pay for the day to day expenses in my family. I got a well-paying full-time job immediately after leaving HS with the skills/knowledge I already had because I had taken classes with a view getting a job that could support my family. My parents divorced just as I graduated and I paid the bilils for at least 2 years until my mother was able to get training and get a good job. So it wasn't "the truth" that held me back but the fact that my parents were unwilling (my father) and unable (my mother) to put me through school. Later, I put myself through school using scholarship money for returning students/women.

I suggest you check with your local university or vocational school and find out what you qualify for. It is not just the young whippersnappers that qualify for scholarships.

Blondie

• jaredg
    jaredg

i went to college and my parents encouraged me to. my sister and brother-in-law went to college too. we were all raised in the "truth".

• codeblue
    codeblue

That's great for you jaredg....but I graduated from high school in 1975..........college was taboo if you wanted to be considered "spiritual".

No parents or the WTBS encouraged college............you were instead encouraged to drop out of school and pioneer.

Blondie: Thanks for you advise!!!

CodeBlue

• Crazy151drinker
    Crazy151drinker

too many good times and drinkin.........