The New JWdom - Vew of Older Publications? (and other related questions)

by Magnum 24 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Magnum
    Magnum

What’s going on with JWs who are the studious/scholarly/research-inclined type? I feel that there aren’t many of that type anymore, but there have to be some – mostly old-timers. So, what do they think? How do they study?

When I was active, I collected all the old publications I could find. I studied and researched and kept extensive notes. I could quote points from old publications. I had all the old Franz era prophetic books, and I regularly consulted them. I color-coded the Revelation Climax book and wrote extensive marginal notes in it.

Things just seem so different in JWdom now. stuckinarut2 wrote something like this recently in another thread: “It's anyone's guess now as to what the official JW teachings are.” I feel the same way. Now, I couldn’t be the type JW I was back then. I couldn’t study and research as I did because I wouldn’t know what older JW publications are still “official” and are still accepted (or at least what parts thereof).

So, how do JWs know? Would it be acceptable for a JW in the new JWdom to refer to an old Franz publication in a Watchtower comment? Do JWs still even have access to the older stuff? I feel that a lot of the old-timers still have the older books and other publications, and I guess the older publications are still included with The Watchtower Library software, but I’m not sure. The two younger (30ish) JWs I’ve talked with lately didn’t even know who F Franz was and probably know nothing of the publications he was responsible for, but what about the older ones who know of such? Have they been instructed not to consult them?

It seems that JWdom is, as has been stated on this site, becoming more of a lifestyle religion and less doctrine oriented as it used to be. It seems now to be just concerned about obedience and “light” (as in “not heavy”) teachings.