Need help in finding some information regarding the Adam and Eve tale.

by Tameria2001 23 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Tameria2001
    Tameria2001

I am finally at the point in my life I no longer believe in the tales of the bible. My husband feels for the most part that it too is stuff made up. There are just a few things that he wants to get cleared up, and one of those being the story of Adam and Eve. But everything I find deals with the creation of Adam, or something involving aliens. Does anyone know of any good links that really goes into the actual facts?

• blondie
    blondie

I have no background in non-jw writings on Adam and Eve: Leolaia was a source but she no longer posts on JWN that I can tell. peaceful pete, has been doing research in non-jw writings (scholarly) about Adam and Eve. He might have suggestions.

There are others on here that have shared such info. Hopefully, they will see your post and chime in.

• Phizzy
    Phizzy

There is a long and Academic post by Leolaia on here which deals with a number of the aspects of the Genesis Myth of Adam and Eve. It may not be all you are looking for, but is very eye-opening and very informative.

Her Post is Titled " The Tree of Life, Asherah, and Her Snakes" use the Search box on here, you may find other stuff by Leo too. She is a well read and trustworthy source.

• Finkelstein
    Finkelstein

My husband feels for the most part that it too is stuff made up.

The bible is a mix of mythological expressions combined with historical facts from beginning to end .

The ancients hadn't the knowledge of the world in which we exist back then, so gods were a needed and necessary answer to those unknowns.

In the adherence to intellectual honesty, human ignorance is an indefensible fact.

• OnTheWayOut
    OnTheWayOut