Out of the world, into the Truth

by apalro 27 Replies latest jw experiences

• apalro
    apalro

For some background - I studied on & off as a child with a Jehovah's Witness who has been patiently working on lots of our family for more than a decade and never gave up on any of us. As a middle-schooler and a highschooler, my love for Jehovah and any association with my childhoood bible teacher... faded. Disappeared. I was wrapped up in myself, looks, materialistic things, boy crazy and the usual wordly stuff. My family had the truth in their heart, but it was hard to sacrifice things and fully commit for them.

I had my first serious boyfriend the last 2 years of highschool. He was the sweetest, most innocent, and charming boy. Well, he was for just a year. He quickly changed and evolved into a monster.

So I know parents teach you sex before marriage is bad, but I had thought it was because we are too young to be sexual and for love/heartbreak. I had no idea it was rooted from God's commandment about sex out of wedlock and other sexually immoral stuff. So no big deal, here I am as a 16 year old starting to have sex. This relationship was TOXIC and unhealthy. We were on and off, always fighting. Soon, he began cheating and even physically abusing me. At 18, I was pregnant. I went through the pregnancy alone.

It wasnt until the 8000th time I was "done" with my boyfriend and father of my child, that I seeked Jehovah in desperate prayer. I was 20 years old, packing my bags and boxes moving out of his family's house again, with a 1 year old baby. Finally, I did feel defeated. I felt really sick and tired this time. I felt finished with the chances and broken promises. I felt pathetic sitting in my parent's home, in a spare office room, with boxes everywhere and raggedy spare blankets on floor and a child on my breast while Im crying in the dark in middle of the room floor. I tried and tried and it just didnt work out. I was done being made a fool.