Any drivers here recognise THIS scenario?

by The Fall Guy 14 Replies latest social current

• The Fall Guy
    The Fall Guy

A BBC News report about a "hit & run" victim. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-northamptonshire-46762571

The "victim's" comments are laughable:

"I know I'm partly to blame, (only partly?) and also you never know what idiots are going to be driving around."

(as a driver, I know what idiots are walking around! A woman chatting on her 'phone stepped off the pavement/side-walk and almost pushed her baby's pram into my car )

"The driver who fled the scene "needs to have a bit of a wake-up call".

(yes dear, they need to be even more vigilant for oblivious idiots like you!)

"A police spokeswoman said: "It is believed the woman was knocked unconscious after being in collision walking into with a vehicle that failed to stop."

• Simon
    Simon

Try driving round Calgary ... idiot pedestrians, everywhere. It's made worse by having cars + pedestrians intended to go across the same bit of tarmac at the same time so if you're trying to turn right you have to watch for pedestrians and forget about assuming they won't cross when they don't have a walk sign. Apparently, if the sign is changing (when you are not supposed to cross) then what you do is run fast to get onto the cross walk and then slow to the slowest of saunters. Sometimes no cars move on a complete cycle of the lights which adds to congestion at rush hour. They should ticket people for their own protection.

Now, for added brilliance, they have added bike lanes so when turning right you now also have to give way to cyclists who might be barrelling up from behind you. If someone said "how can we create an accident situation?" you'd be hard pressed to come up with something better.