Logansrun.....has arrived

by logansrun 37 Replies latest jw friends

• logansrun
    logansrun

I just thought I would post a little about myself here, even though some of you might know me from the "Beyond Jehovah's Witnesses" forum.

My name is Bradley and I live in a suburb of Chicago Illinois. I'm currently twenty six years old and left the JWs about nine months ago after a year and a half of intense doubts, many hundreds of hours of research, cognitive dissonance and bouts of vomitting (stressful, eh?). I was appointed a ministerial servant at eighteen years of age, pioneered for six years, served where there was a "great" need in the inner city and did just about everything an elder would do short of being one.

I was a voracious student of the Bible. Probably, because of this, I was aware of conumdrums in both the text itself as well as the Society's interpretation of it. Usually I would try to rationalize away these doubts, but time to time they would come up. Little did I realize just how many there were till a couple years ago when my best friend was reinstated and started to convey some of his doubts to me. He mentioned chronology, carbon dating, failed prophecy, evolution and the like. As he listed his concerns I said in the back of my mind, "you know, you have a very good point", although I initially set out to "help" him strengthen his faith. I endeavored to start doing extraneous research outside the corpus of WT literature and in the process lost my faith. (I truly wonder how many people leave the Society in an effort to help someone else regain their faith!)