Black reparations

by LoneWolf 33 Replies latest jw friends

• LoneWolf
    LoneWolf

Hi, everyone.

A week or so ago someone posted on the subject of Black reparations and asked what our opinion was - pro or con - and why. Now, I'm not going to claim that I'm an expert on the subject, plus, I'm white, plus, I'm a back country red-neck (of the Jeff Foxworthy stripe ), so I suppose that most people will be asking themselves, "Whot the heck is HE going to say something for?"

Well, the truth is that country red-necks are as badly misrepresented in public opinion as most other groups in the country. Heck, I've personally known BLACK rednecks, and found them to be the salt of the earth. Most of them I'd trust with anything I had, including my daughters.

But I find in my case that just sitting by and not doing something when others are down and needing a hand simply drives me nuts. I've got to do something to try to help, and it makes no difference whatsoever who, why, what color, or any other distinction. But doing "just anything - right or wrong" usually does more harm than good, so I usually take some time to study the situation, including the background, etc.

I've had many black friends, and have tried to shut up and listen enough to get the meaning of what they are telling me, and this has gone on for years. Finally, about a year ago, I gave in (I'm a reluctant writer) and wrote a lengthy treatise on racial prejudice. I sent it in seven installments to William Raspberry, the black university professor and newspaper columnist, whom I'd had a little correspondance with. So far, there's been no response, although I'm not sure that it got through to him. Section 6 covers black reparations, among other things.