Choices we have, choices we make....

by Sunchild 28 Replies latest jw friends

• Sunchild
    Sunchild

"When you're older, you'll understand."

"When you're older, you'll learn to see things my way."

"When you're older, you'll be cynical and bitter. When you see that life's not fair, then your view won't be so rosy, and you'll see how right I was."

I've heard things like this from more people than I'd care to think about, either directly or by implication. Those people were all at least in their 40s. Right now, I'm 25.

Before I go any further with this, I know that someone here is probably wondering, "What's this got to do with JW issues?" Simply put, a lot. I don't know much about the inner workings of the Tower, and I don't have any real desire to dissect past publications in search of inconsistencies. Other people here do a wonderful job of that. The only thing I have to offer is what I know, and what I'm still learning: How to deal with it when life screws you over. That's what this post is about.

People who tell me, "When you're older..." seem to assume some things about me, and I think I know what a few of them are. 1)Since I'm 25, an only child, and my parents haven't kicked me out, I must be spoiled rotten by very loving, understanding parents. 2)Since I grew up with certain financial advantages (my parents aren't rich, but they're pretty well-to-do), my view of life is unrealistic. 3)Since I'm young and seem so happy, I've never really suffered. I haven't learned yet that life isn't fair. Well, submitted for your approval, here are the facts of my strange, short life.

Yes, my parents spoiled me. They gave me every toy I ever wanted, and I always had the most expensive clothes.

Yes, my parents love me dearly. I have no doubts about that at all. But I think what matters more is how they showed me love.