What is the biggest regret or source of resentment because of being a Jehovahs Witness?

by stuckinarut2 76 Replies latest jw experiences

• stuckinarut2
    stuckinarut2

I'm sure we could all write long paragraphs about this question, but in a few words, what is your biggest regret, or frustration in life due to being a witness?

What missed opportunities did it cost you?

• Bob_NC
    Bob_NC

Regret would be developing friendships only among other JWs and not allowing non-JWs to get close enough to be considered a friend. Thus, marrying from the limited pool of JWs.

Missed opportunities. Not getting an education. Believing that the Watchtower and Awake! provided a well-rounded education equivalent to a college degree.

• KateWild
    KateWild

I was a qualified chemical analyst before I joined the cult, I gave it up to pioneer and my husband supported me. We divorced and I can't get my old job back. I regret giving up my career for the GB. Kate xx

• troubled mind
    troubled mind

My biggest regret/resentment was not going on to College . I was an honor role student all through High School ,and my Grandfather even offered to help me pay for College ....but the END WAS SO CLOSE !!! Instead I got married the day after H.S. graduation to another JW ,afraid if we waited the END would come before we had the chance .

• DATA-DOG
    DATA-DOG

I would say the biggest regret is that I NEVER pursued any of my interests or talents because they were "bad" and the end was so close. Now my youth is gone. It's not that I regret all of my life choices, it's just that all my choices were never really mine. I was allowed to "choose" from certain items that were already picked out for me, so to speak. Everything from recreation to a marriage partner was strictly regulated. My "choices" were picked for me.

DD

• St George of England
    St George of England

I never got laid before I got married.....

George

• HowTheBibleWasCreated
    HowTheBibleWasCreated