It's the 46th anniversary of Star Trek TV series

by moshe 59 Replies latest social current

• moshe
    moshe

Google reminds us how long ago this was, 1966 (or was it 67?) - I was a teenager in High School and guess what? I never saw one eposode on local TV. I got out voted 4 to 1 when I wanted to switch channels on our single B&W TV- then it went to Friday night and by then I had a job every Friday night in a grocery store-- so-oo, I never saw Star Trek until some years later in reruns. I always imagine that there is one episode I have yet to see!

I wasn't a JW when it came out, but I imagine a lot witnesses skipped meetings to watch Star Trek- or did they? Do you have a favorite character/episode?

• baltar447
    baltar447

Wow New GB member was only 1 year old!

• talesin
    talesin

Spock!

Favorite episodes "This Side of Paradise", "Amok Time, and of course "The Troube with Tribbles" (I have a tribble :P

Love the oft-repeated gags ...

Bones: He's dead, Jim! and I'm a Doctor, not a (fill-in-the-blank)

Scotty: The Dilithium crystals are breaking up! ... it's more than she can take, Captain!

oh, and beware the crew members who beam down to the planet wearing red! "dead man walking" :D

• SafeAtHome
    SafeAtHome

I love the original Star trek and got hooked on it in the 70's when it was in syndication. It would come on each night around 6 and my new husband and I would watch it while we ate dinner. I wondered why I didn't watch it while it was on, and of course found out it started out on Thursday night, Service Meeting & Ministry School night, so no way could I have seen it. My favorites were "The Trouble With Tribbles" and the one that had Spock's human mother. Spock almost showed some emotion in that one. We missed a lot of good shows on meeting nights. I do remember hurrying home on Thursday nights to catch the Dean Martin show that started at 10. He could be a bit risque but my elder dad thought he was hilarious.

• SafeAtHome
    SafeAtHome