JW's week after week trying to convert me

by HBJ 79 Replies latest jw friends

• HBJ
    HBJ

Greetings:

This is my first post. I have been a Protestant Christian my entire life, but over the past few months I’ve been conversing with two Jehovah’s witnesses on a weekly basis. As they quickly learned that I was Biblically versed, they replaced what I would call a “trainee”, with someone I believe to be an “elder”. This person does 99% of all the talking while the other person sits and listens. When the silent individual does speak, it is usually out of anger in defending what he may take as me attacking what I believe to be a flawed theology. Although I am extremely versed with Scripture, they seem to have an answer to everything I throw on the table. We’ve debated about Jesus being Michael the Archangel, Jesus being God in the Flesh, His physical Resurrection vs. His Spiritual Resurrection, The Trinity, their practices of shunning, etc.

I studied and translated ancient languages at Cambridge under the tutelage of a renowned Professor for approximately 7 years. Much of my studies were devoted to the Greek Scripture and their translation, (specifically The New Testament), over the centuries into English.

What perplexes me is that even though I know the WTBTC uses linguistic trickery in their verbiage, and have admittedly stated that they have made changes to Scripture, much of it seems to make sense when I crossed referenced it to even some of the oldest of the Scriptures that I’ve been privileged to work on.

I told them today that I absolutely would not ever recognize the authority of the watchtower, as I knew they were guilty of altering the Bible to say the least, and that would alleviate me regarding the joining of their congregation.