Oh the weirdness: Observations from a study

by howdidtihappen 34 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• howdidtihappen
    howdidtihappen

I started studying JW with a work friend because she used to keep me at arms length and i knew it was because of her religion. She and her family are such lovely people so i thought maybe there was something to it, how bad can it be, etc. I was enticed by this girls friendship as she has been spending more time with me but continues to say "you're not one of us yet" which continually freaks me out. By now I've figured out I'm being manipulated. Anyway, i went to the kingdom hall yesterday for the first time and straight away thought it looked like a business meeting. Suits are HUMBLE?

A few other observations:

- Is there a rule about sitting next to boys if you're a girl? There was a weird exchange between my friend and this girl who was sitting in front of us, next to a guy. She quickly said "It shouldn't stumble anyone, we're like brother and sister!" STUMBLE?

- What the hell are the guys who get up during the meeting and go outside or go stand at the back of the room doing? I saw people having conversations outside and figured they can't be taking it too seriously if they aren't inside, listening. One guy (an MS) went from sitting down, to standing at the back, to wandering around outside. This is all allowed?

-Do guys not want to get caught talking to a study? I got that impression. I was talking to a guy (most basic conversation - I've also learned the JWs don't have much to say except drill me about my intentions) and this older man comes up to us and says to this guy "Your cousin wants to see you. Over THERE. She's not coming over HERE." Am I imagining things/overanalyzing?