How Do I 'Come Out' To My Kids?

by headisspinning 23 Replies latest jw friends

• headisspinning
    headisspinning

Those of you who have been following my story know that I just 'came out' to my family about being finished with the religion.

Does anyone have advice on how to explain this to the kids? Their ages are 9 & 14 and they are very smart and fully grasp all the issues.

They are living with their father who has brainwashed them. So this is very touchy.

Should I just keep being a good Mom and just lay low? Or should I bring it up?

• OnTheWayOut
    OnTheWayOut

Bump this thread for a couple of days and you will get loads of advice. Try to weed through it and especially consider advice from anyone in similar situations. You will get some good advice.

• sabastious
    sabastious

I wouldn't begin to know how to give you such advice, but I look forward to reading the good advice that will come from this thread ;)

-Sab

• Mad Sweeney
    Mad Sweeney

I'm no expert but without custody you are at a disadvantage. I'd try to get the kids.

Also, they will be easier to UN-indoctrinate the younger they are. Don't wait. Read Hassan's books, follow his advice, as well as some of the experiences here. Oz has been chronicling his work with his teenage son and daughter and the successes and failures along the way. At this point he seems to be having more success with the younger of the two and don't be surprised if the same ends up going for you.

But you MUST get time with the kids and it has to be WAY BETTER for them than the time spent with their JW dad.

Good luck.

• SixofNine
    SixofNine

The fact that you aren't sure how, means you should not "come out", at least not in one fell swoop. You don't know their reaction, and it could easily backfire.