Did you have higher ed when you were in? If so how were you treated as a result?

by highdose 38 Replies latest jw friends

• highdose
    highdose

I went to both collage and uni when i was a JW, i got marked and shunned as a result. It seemed like every week there would be some dig made from the platform about " those that chose higher education" , my so called "freinds" were constandly on at me " why don't you pioneer highdose?!!". I even had the ciruit overseer denounce me from the platform as being "spirtualy weak" never mind that most of the peers i grew up with had got themselves reproved or disfellowed and that i was the only who had been good!

When i graduated and got a job that gave me a very nice wage, One that was way above my "freinds" who window cleaned and cleaned houses. I was hated by my peers, totaly hated, every time i mentioned work they would ask how much i earned for that, how much did those shoes cost?!!

I was given the impression that they deeply resented my earning power and also hated that i did not give most of it to the pioneers. Don't get me wrong i always paid my way for petrol etc but i think they wanted a big percentage of my pay check per month.

There were several JW's i grew up with who were naturaly bright, but who chose not to do anything with their brains, but instead left school with the minium education to window clean and pioneer. To this day they have to work all the hours in all weathers just to scrape together enough to pay the bills. THey have no pension, no health insurance, no savings and no future. Their future is a bleak one, one were armargeddon will never come, they will never get to move into that nice house when god kills its owners, they will get sick... old and still be just scrapping by.

• kimbo
    kimbo

I want an education

to late for meeeeeee......

not going back to the hall ever again

• jwfacts
    jwfacts