What was the first single you ever bought, and what are your memories?

by lifelong humanist 45 Replies latest jw friends

• lifelong humanist
    lifelong humanist

Some light relief!

Even now, I can vividly recall buying my very first 45 RPM single in 1967.

I was only just 15 years old. I worked as a 'paper boy', delivering newspapers to people living nearby. I earned about £1.00 per week, for a six day job - starting work about 06:00. To me, that was quite a lot of money back then. So, buying my first single was quite an expensive purchase for me.

Excitedly, I sneaked it into the family home and played it on my mum & dad's stereo player (without their permission, of course). While it sounds totaly crazy now, for a JW family in the late 60's , this was quite a 'daring' thing to have and use in the home!

Anyway, I can still recall the sound as Scott McKenzie's 'San Francisco (Be Sure to Wear Flowers in Your Hair) record's music filled my ears. It was a great record. I still think so, today. The flip-side was pretty good , too.

I remember this for mostly one reason - some American (USA) mum & dad had agreed to send their teenage daughter (from San Diego, California) to visit my JW friend's family in the Glasgow area - I think as some sort of au pair. I can't remeber her name. She wasn't a 'looker', but I thought she was really something!

I was invited to join an 'older' JW in the family's second car (a Morris Minor, convertible) to accompany this girl on a visit to the beautiful Loch Lomond area. There were ather passengers, but I can't recall exactly who they were. The record was playing on the car's radio. The San Diego girl seemed to like the music, too. The driver, did not.

Memories, memories!

What was the first single you bought?

• brotherdan
    brotherdan

Nothing Else Matters - Metallica

• JRK
    JRK

My first record was not a single. I bought an album. "Louie, Louie" by The Kingsman, at the age of 6. I was even cool then. Rock on.

JK