Who do you pray when you feel the need to pray if you dont believe in God?

by cyberjesus 29 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• cyberjesus
    cyberjesus

Sometimes when we face difficult situations I feel the need to pray to God for help, and I know that plenty of times the sole act of praying makes you feel hope and have a better outcome of the situation. You can call it suggestive or that you prepare a positive scenario by using faith. The outcome is that regardless if there is someone who listens or not to your prayers oftentimes you feel better afterwards and have more positive attitude.

the problem is that I dont believe in God anymore. But just this morning I felt the need to pray for help in getting out of this depressive mode that from time to time I still get into since Im relatively new to this "new world"

So what do you do? For those of you who have been free from the Matrix, what do you do when you feel the need the help of a superior being? How did you manage to find comfort somewhere else?

• leavingwt
    leavingwt

George Carlin suggested praying to Joe Pesci. Why? "He looks like a guy who can get stuff done!"

• cantleave
    cantleave

For me the need to pray used to arise from uncertainty. Rather than pray, I now ponder the situation, and try undertsand the reasons for my uncertainty, formulate the questions I need to ask and formulate solutions.

• hamsterbait
    hamsterbait

This is acually a very DEEP question.

I no longer believe in the Witchtower god. Yet I cannot believe in any of the other deities who have been presented to me, as passed down from eons of ignorance.

Nevertheless, I am convinced that our universe is at work, perhaps making sense of itself. I am convinced that I have received great benevolence, for whatever reason or purpose.

I am strongly moved by the words of Christ, and live in hope because of that. BUT...