uni is not all its cracked up to be me dears, sorry

by highdose 38 Replies latest jw friends

• highdose
    highdose

i've noticed on this forum the big regret of alot of people seems to be that they didn't go to collage or university.

Speaking as someone whose done the whole shebang, i can tell you that while yes i learnt alot at collage, uni taught me very little at all. In fact anything i learnt i taught myself by spending hours apon hours in the uni libary, which i could have done by just getting a day pass.

My degree has not helped me in my career, i already knew how to do what i do before going to uni. I run my own business now but i am sure that if i ever went for an employee postion my years of experiance would count far more than the bit of paper i have proving i have a degree.

getting a degree is pretty much down to knowing how to work the academic system. by which i mean, figuring out what boxes you need to tick to get the grade. Once youv'e got that cracked you realise that deep research and long well argued essays don't matter.The tutors probably won't read them and are just looking for the said "boxes" to see if they are ticked or not.

I guess my point is, appreciate what you have and don't feel bad about not having been to uni because it honestly its no serious acolade, your experiance in life is what counts

• BizzyBee
    BizzyBee
    uni taught me very little at all.

Your post demonstrates the profound truth of your statement.

• straightshooter
    straightshooter