Embarassed at school for being a Witness - Did this happen to you?

by Witness 007 51 Replies latest jw experiences

• Witness 007
    Witness 007

When they played the national Anthem everyone stood up...except afew of us Witness kids who stood out like a saw thumb....a brother two rows ahead of me had a teacher physically drag him to his feet as he struggled to explain himself...I would sweat like a pig as others pointed and laught and told me off...from then on I would hide in the toilet till I heard the anthem finish then come out.

Then theirs birthday holidays, sex education, religious studies which I wanted to do since I would be a star but I was Banned by my family.

Do you have an embarassing hide like a rat in the toilet moment.

• lancelink
    lancelink

I remember when I graduated from high school. The ceremony was held in the field house, and I was the ONLY ONE out of 400 graduates who sat during the national anthem. Good grief, was I embarrassed !

• keyser soze
    keyser soze

The worst for me was calling on my classmates out in service, and then having to face them on Monday. Also, not saying the pledge of allegiance, and having to be excused from birthday and holiday parties.

• Witness 007
    Witness 007

ME AT SCHOOL = "No I can't have an Easter egg...I cant make hearts on Valintines day....I cant make Christmas cards...I cant Make mothers or Fathers day cards...no I cant be in a fairytale play that has ghosts in it...No I dont celibrate my

• Scully
    Scully