Names have been changed. Why?

by easyreader1970 15 Replies latest jw friends

• easyreader1970
    easyreader1970

The only time that the Watchtower publication uses the real name of a person mentioned is when it's some biographical experience that is the entire article. Anytime a Witness is quoted in an article or other publication, they always include a footnote.

For example:

"I studied medicine because I wanted to use my life to help people. I also felt that the prestige and financial rewards of being a doctor would make me happy," recalls Seung Jin, who grew up in Korea*. "As I came to realize how little a doctor can really do to help, I became disillusioned.
    * Name has been changed.

In almost every case, these people that are "interviewed" either already are Jehovah's Witnesses or they eventually join up. So why do they not use their real names? In my opinion, the quotes would have more credibility if they told us that it was Jack Johnson in Arkansas as opposed to some generic name like Mary or David or possibly even Seung Jin (I really don't know if that is a common Korean name).

Furthermore, where do these quotes even come from? Do they interview Bethelites for the articles? Or do they just make the quotes up to go with the material. After all, we have no way to check the sources and validate anything.

er

• civicsi00
    civicsi00

I've always wondered about that too. What do they have to hide?'

Nowaways I just think those quotes are all somehow made up. They may sound like what someone once wrote, but knowing the WT, they tend to modify things to suit them better.

• Gopher
    Gopher

I always thought they used anonymity so they wouldn't give too much attention/notoriety to an individual. (It's kind of the same reason they won't celebrate birthdays.)

The "individual" is much less important than the "organization", you know.