Wonderful Anti-Witness Opportunity at Work...

by AK - Jeff 11 Replies latest jw experiences

• AK - Jeff
    AK - Jeff

I realize that I am out of time - gotta go. But I shall return and post the experience I had on Saturday. In the meantime, anyone have any good Anti-Memorial stories?

Sorry - not intended as a bait and switch, just didn't see the clock.

Jeff

• AK - Jeff
    AK - Jeff

Ok - here goes.

One of my job responsibilities is to direct truck drivers coming to our perishable food warehouse into the proper door, and assure that the truck is secure to enter and safe. I am a yard driver so in constant communication with the truck gate and inside managers by radio.

On Saturday, the date of the Memorial, I get a strange call from the gate, from Christy, a good friend with whom I have shared many conversations with regarding my exit from the cult of Jehovah's Witnesses.

Christy: Jeff, there is a driver coming to door 319 looking for a place to go for Easter. Before I thought about what I said, I told him you might be able to help him.

Me: A place for Easter? The guy is looking to celebrate Easter?

Christy: You know, like you used to do it.

Me: Ok, I'll see if I can help him.

By now I have figured out that at Jw is inquiring of the place for the Memorial. Due to strict standards in our company, Christy cannot state that in so many words.

I get to the other side of the building and find the driver. He approaches my yard-tractor with:

Truck Driver : I was told that you might be able to help me find the Kingdom Hall, brother. You know, for the Memorial tonight?

Me: I can direct you there. I was, but am no longer a Jw, but I know where the KH is here in town.

Truck Driver : You 'were' a Jw?

Me: Yes - for most of my first 48 years of life.

Truck Driver : Why did you leave?

Me: For me it was finding out that the Watchtower affiliated itself with the UN in 1992......

Truck Driver : With the UN? Why that's the ......