Recovery of an Adult Convert (Excluded from Christmas)

by lonelysheep 26 Replies latest jw friends

• lonelysheep
    lonelysheep

On my previous thread, I wrote about reconnecting with my family:
    http://www.jehovahs-witness.com/6/146360/1.ashx

Too little, too late, I sadly admit.

Holidays, specifically Christmas, were always special for us since we were able to all be together. Of course, I completely stopped that when I started studying with the jw's.

I intended to go to my grandmother's house on Christmas. The day of my grandfather's funeral, just about a month prior to xmas, in fact, one of my cousins and I said spoke and agreed that we should go there that day so we could all be together.

On Christmas, my brother, our two cousins and their spouses/significant others met at my grandmother's house to take her to dinner with other family members. I was purposely left out of the plans. My brother left me a message on xmas eve stating he was taking her to an aunt's house and was not sure what time they'd be back. I wasn't invited, I took it. $hitty, but I'll deal with it. But the day after xmas, I spoke to my grandmother who said she thought for sure she'd see me on Christmas. She then went on to say that each of the grandkids (minus me) came to her house w/their partners and kids, and as a surprise to her, they would all be travelling together to my aunt's house.

So, I thought my family was happy to see me, but the opposite is true. They must've saved face for the sake of the funeral. I had always felt like the outcast, being the only one not involved in sports and the only one who was put down my entire life by everyone, while the others were backed by love and support from everyone. Now, though, I know I'm outed for good. It's done. Any connection that might have remained, I destroyed for that damn imaginary character in the sky and a non-life appreciating group of people based out of Brooklyn, NY.