How Do You Stretch Your Food Dollars?

by compound complex 49 Replies latest jw friends

• compound complex
    compound complex

Dear Budgetarian Grocery-Buyers,

I am an artist though hardly a starving artist. Some of my patrons kindly feed me and I do have my well-stocked freezer. However, the frozen offerings consist largely of delicious but meatless soup stock. Do you have any suggestions on rendering a thin broth into a hearty, man-size repast?

Any and all tips on eating well for less would certainly benefit us all!

Merci beaucoup!

CoCo de la Cuisine

• DJK
    DJK

Just my wife and I. We buy chicken and pork in family packs of six or eight peices. Split into two peices per meal and freeze.

Pasta can go a long way. Bottle sauces, as bad as they are, can be improved by adding green pepper and meat like sausage and even shrimp. Portion that and freeze for individual meals. Good for quickie meals.

Broth. Add frozen or canned peas, corn, carrots and a little onoin if you like. Heat while cooking broad noodles. Add cooked noodles to mixture. Freeze leftovers for a quick lunch.

• mrsjones5
    mrsjones5

My supermarket has a section in the meat department of items for quick sale, usually cuts of meat close to the last date of sale. If they have something I like I buy it and cook it that night (strirfry or cassarole) or freeze it for later. The price difference is between 30 to 40 percent but sometimes I find really good deals. Also, because we've been going through some lean times, I go to a food pantry that gives out frozen meat. Can't select what I get but it helps. Got some ground venison I have not idea what to do with.

• compound complex
    compound complex

Thanx DJK!

Your suggestions are excellent; I'm heading to market now with a fistful of coins! I will see what shreds of fowl or beef I might add to my broths.