What didn't you do because you were a JW that you now regret?

by jwfacts 46 Replies latest jw experiences

• jwfacts
    jwfacts

I just bought a bottle of wine for an exJW's 30th that I am about to run off to. On it there was a great quote by Mark Twain:

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do... Explore. Dream. Discover"

What didn't you do as a JW that now disappoints you?

• blondie
    blondie

The past is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift, that is why we call it the present.

No point in poisoning my present. If you can go back and apologize and make amends without hurting the person further, do so.

Blondie

• R.F.
    R.F.

I'm very young but I regret not finishing college.

I'm not the jealous type, but when I see ones that I graduated high school with that have now graduated college it makes me think more about myself. I haven't been very active with the org long but those are lost years to a lie.

Anyhow, i'm just glad I hopefully still have many years ahead of me.

• SnakesInTheTower
    SnakesInTheTower

blondie:

No point in poisoning my present

excellent excellent comment as always! as for me.... NO REGRETS since I am moving forward and OUT!...this takes time...but forward...

Before my fade (even while serving as an elder), I went to a 2-yr college and just graduated with a career associates (not using it for now, but I DID IT)...something never encouraged while a super-dub. I probably will continue a couple classes a semester to get a regular transfer associates and then finish a bachelors degree at a 4 yr school..slowly...got student loan to pay off...so this will take time....

maybe take more classes doing what I am interested in... html/web design maybe (tip of the hat to Wanderer on that)...possibly digital photog classes....

Reading more non Borg literature...not dwelling on the past but never forgetting, so as not to slip backwards in my fade out..